Matrix Construction Terminology

May 2010
Hi,

I'm following a technical paper converting the mathematical formula to code and am stuck at the following:

Given a vector a in R3, we can construct a 3x3 symmetric matrix, m(a) that has |a| as an eigenvalue with a as the corresponding eigenvector, and with the other two eigenvalues equal to zero. This matrix is de fined by

m(a) = {aaT/|a| : a != 0
{ 0 : a = 0​
I'm fairly new with the notation and have 2 questions:

1) How do you construct this 3x3 matrix in layman's terms?
2) I have 3 eigenvalues & corresponding eigenvectors gained from a stress matrix that I'm trying to decompose into compressive and tensile forces, does it look as if I should be just selecting one of these to form the above matrix?

Opalg

MHF Hall of Honor
Aug 2007
Leeds, UK
I'm following a technical paper converting the mathematical formula to code and am stuck at the following:

Given a vector a in R3, we can construct a 3x3 symmetric matrix, m(a) that has |a| as an eigenvalue with a as the corresponding eigenvector, and with the other two eigenvalues equal to zero. This matrix is de fined by

m(a) = {aaT/|a| : a != 0
{ 0 : a = 0​
I'm fairly new with the notation and have 2 questions:

1) How do you construct this 3x3 matrix in layman's terms?
If the vector \(\displaystyle a\) (which you write as a column vector) has components \(\displaystyle a_1,\,a_2,\,a_3\), then \(\displaystyle aa^{\textsc{t}}\) is the matrix product of \(\displaystyle a\) with the transpose of \(\displaystyle a\). It is a 3×3 matrix with components \(\displaystyle \begin{bmatrix}a_1^2&a_1a_2&a_1a_3\\ a_2a_1&a_2^2&a_2a_3\\ a_3a_1&a_3a_2&a_3^2\end{bmatrix}.\) To get the matrix \(\displaystyle aa^{\textsc{t}}/|a|\) you then have to divide each element by \(\displaystyle |a|.\)