Derivative of Functional

Jul 2009
hi there, i am actually studying about functional equation.
I got stucked with some derivatives problem,
and where i could find nowhere to refer or study from,
because it seems it is out of university book level.

my question is this :

what does it means by taking derivative with respect to partial derivative?
can anyone visualize this idea to me?
because i couldn't figure out the term with respect to partial derivative,
when it comes to a functional equation,
of which is a differential equations.

For e.g : F(x,y(x),y'(x),y''(x)) , find \(\displaystyle \frac{d}{dx}\) of \(\displaystyle \partial \) F(x,y(x),y'(x),y''(x)) / \(\displaystyle \partial \) y' .

How can we write the full solution with partial derivative respect to y' ? and how bout y''?

Drexel28

MHF Hall of Honor
Nov 2009
Berkeley, California

my question is this :

For e.g : F(x,y(x),y'(x),y''(x)) , find \(\displaystyle \frac{d}{dx}\) of \(\displaystyle \partial \) F(x,y(x),y'(x),y''(x)) / \(\displaystyle \partial \) y' .

How can we write the full solution with partial derivative respect to y' ? and how bout y''?